Potpourri: The Week in Review

What I am reading: Meaty by Samantha Irby

I have Crohn’s Disease, and I didn’t know how much I wanted to hear someone else’s experiences until I read Meaty by Samantha Irby. Every time I tell someone I have Crohn’s Disease, I’m always surprised to learn that their sister/old roommate/father/friend has Crohn’s. It’s incredibly common, so why don’t we talk about it?

I’ve had a Crohn’s diagnosis for 21 years. If my Crohn’s were a person, it would legally be allowed to drink. And for 21 years, I’ve had to dance around reasons for nausea, trips to the bathroom, only eating plain chicken and rice until everything stabilizes because people don’t typically like talking about what goes on in the bathroom. It’s not like every human and animal on the planet has to deal with it, or anything.

The book is not entirely about Crohn’s, but Crohn’s is an unforgiving and hilarious theme. And that, I find meaningful.

What I am watching: The Crown

It certainly has both feet in the “Lovely British people in lovely period clothes” genre, and as such, I can safely say, a mere two episodes in, this show is very lovely.

What am I listening to: “How to be Amazing” by Michael Ian Black

I know Michael Ian Black from his roles in Ed, Stella, Wet Hot American Summer, and his aptly named podcast “Mike and Tom Eat Snacks.” He and his friend Tom eat snacks, and talk about it.

This podcast is better. Surprisingly sensitive and thoughtful while still being funny, he interviews people about their life story, how they found their path, and what advice they have for others. Favorite episodes: Lin-Manuel Miranda (in a pre-Hamilton interview), David Sedaris, and Nate Silver.

What am I googling:

“Can a person get addicted to NyQuil after taking for four days?”

Answer: Only metaphorically.

Leave a Reply

