The 10 Greatest, Definitely Real Inspirational Quotes

On Friday after work, I drove to a local grocery store on autopilot, and found myself standing over the small plastic bowl of leek and morel monterey jack samples, eating more than the suggested one. Ten. I ate ten.

I realized I should probably stop when, looking up, I saw I was being watched by the worker in charge of the hard cider samples. I’m pretty sure he saw it all.

I used to refill samples during my retail days. I may be a monster, but I’m a monster who has done her time. It’s the circle of life.

Returning to myself, I smiled politely, and walked a lap around the chip section before I struck the spicy cheese spread samples. Afterwards, I struck the cheese curd samples hard.

And then I bought something because while I might be a monster, I’m a good one. Like a Monster, Inc. monster.

My Fridays are not always so cheese-centric. This work week was long. So long, it made the social rules my parents have been trying to teach me for 28 years break down at the seams. It also didn’t help that the week before that had already stolen at least 22% of my remaining hopes and dreams.

But yeah, work is hard sometimes. For those have had a hard couple weeks, and for those who might be getting ready to have another hard one, I’ve compiled some of my favorite inspirational quotes.

This is how I stand.

“When life gets you down, say to yourself, ‘not today, altitude sickness!'” – Abraham Lincoln

“You miss 100 percent of the shots that require basketballs when the neighborhood teenagers steal all the basketballs. Lock up your basketballs.” – Marie Curie

“An unexamined life is probably best because you won’t have to think about your teens.” – Sophocles

“You can never cross the ocean if you’re afraid to leave the shore. Or don’t have a boat.” – Christopher Columbus

“The best revenge involves a whoopee cushion.” – Frank Sinatra

“Fall seven times and stand up eight, and then ask your friend why they keep tripping you.” – Japanese proverb

“Dance as if someone was watching, and that person got really weirded out, and didn’t want to hang out with you anymore, but that’s ok because they don’t believe in climate change, so who needs them?” – Confucius

“It is never too late to be what you might have been. Except a murderer. Don’t be a murderer.” – George Eliot

“Either write something worth reading, or do something worth writing, or binge Breaking Bad and wonder if you could deal meth.” – Benjamin Franklin

“When life closes a door, it opens a window, but sometimes it’s raining, so you might have to wait for life to give you an umbrella.” – Albert Einstein

Good luck this week, team!

 

Leave a Reply

