Ramp It Up: The World’s Greenest Soup


I got to go to my first farmer’s market of the year yesterday. I crawled out of bed, and got there early because if you arrive after 9:00, you get caught in the ambling zombie shuffle of people who think that their cheese curd samples are more important than my cheese curd samples, and I think we all know, that’s just crazy talk.

The downside of getting their early, and avoiding cheese curd related murder, is it was freezing.

Well, technically, it was almost freezing. Everyone was appropriately bundled because if there’s anything a Wisconsinite knows how to do, it’s bundle, but it was still the part of the morning where hands were still tucked under arms, people were bouncing from foot to foot, and the trademark “Midwest Nice” was only partially forced through chattering teeth.

Springtime in Wisconsin, everybody!

I didn’t care. The market is back, you guys. We can all stop crying because it’s back!

My haul:

  • Cheese curds – figured after trying every cheese curd sample in the market, someone should actually get some money
  • 5 tomato plants for my patio container garden – I’m going to have a tomato factory, and then I’m going to retire, and I’m going to host a competition where kids compete to see who takes over control of my factory, but it’s a 10 foot by five foot cement patio, so the competition is just a thumb wrestling tournament.
  • A bunch of rhubarb – What’s the deal with rhubarb? No, but really. It looks like fancy celery, but tastes like angry grapes. I don’t get it. (This coming soon to a post near you!)
  • A bag of cherry granola
  • A bunch of green onions
  • A bunch of ramps
  • A bunch of asparagus

My problem with the farmer’s market is, blinded by the joy of once again having a place to get my groceries that doesn’t involve moody teenagers who judge my Michelle Obama tote bag, I usually just grab a lot of things, not knowing how I’m going to use them. Typically, this results in a lot of sautéd things. 

Yes, I know. Teen aging is hard, but she is a treasure, so back off, moody teenagers!


Don’t know what to do with that thing? Sauté it. 

You: “But Meredith, it’s a bag of appl –

Me: “SAUTE IT!”

And then, tired of sautéing things? Better roast it.

I was lucky this time around to find a starting recipe that included at least some of my ingredients: Serious Eats’ Kenji’s recipe for Asparagus and Ramp Soup with Yogurt.

But because I am not Kenji, I don’t need garnishes (who am I? The Queen? Oh man, guys. This is awkward. No I’m not the Queen. I’m genuinely sorry for any previous confusion.), and I am never not enticed by green onions, I created my own version. And heads up, this will be the greenest soup of all the soups, which I think we can all admit is what most people shoot for in their soup endeavors.

Asparampion Soup – Because “Asparagus, Ramps, AND SCALLIONS!” doesn’t have the same ring and just isn’t as fancy


Ingredients

  • Two bunches of asparagus (or 1.5 pounds) with ends snapped off
  • One bunch of ramps (or 1 pound) with ends trimmed- if you don’t have ramps, use 2 cloves of garlic. If you’re a vampire, don’t cook this recipe.
  • One bunch of green onions with ends trimmed
  • Two tablespoons unsalted butter
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  1. Bring a pot of salted water to a boil.
  2. Once boiling, add the asparagus, and cook for 2 minutes. Put cooked asparagus into a ready and waiting ice bath.
  3. Once chilled, transfer the asparagus to a blender.
  4. Sauté the ramps and the green onions in the butter until slightly browned. Add those suckers to the blender.
  5. Add the broth and the yogurt to the blender. I got greek yogurt for another recipe, and because the consistency is a little bit thicker, I upped the chicken broth to thin everything out.
  6. Once blended, you can either strain the soup through a fine mesh sieve, or if you’re like me, and don’t own a fine-mesh sieve (studio apartment, guys. Storage is hard.), you can skip to step 7.
  7. Heat the soup in a medium saucepan, and when ready to serve, add the lemon juice and top with olive oil.


Review: Really nice and fresh recipe for spring! In hindsight, a smoother texture would take this soup the extra mile, but this was quick and easy. Next time I make this, I might get parmesan or cook a couple slices of bacon that I can crumble on top to add some smokiness.

And because sometimes a soup is too green? You know? Like, I finally gave up Flaming Hot Cheetos. My system can only take so much healthy.

Leave a Reply

